Japan's Prefectures

Japan is divided into a number of prefectures and these are shown on the map below. The customs, festivals, cuisine and the dialect differ from prefecture to prefecture.

To find information about prefectures to help you decide where you might like to stay, click on the map, or on the name in the list on the right.

Hokkaido Tohoku Kanto Chubu Kansai Chugoku Shikoku Kyushu